The Fastener

IMG_1875

My husband and I made the acquaintance of a little old lady awhile ago, the sort who owns a fabric shop and is a guru when it comes to sewing. Somehow or other, the subject of snaps, eyelets, and the tools used to set them came up in conversation with her, and she highly recommended The Fastener by Dritz. When we looked the tool up at home, we discovered that it was no longer being manufactured, so we decided to keep an eye on Ebay.

While The Fastener isn’t particularly expensive, it’s very popular and gets snatched up almost as soon as someone lists one for sale. We ended up having to wait a few months before we were able to get this one for me.

And what a dream! It’s easy to use, and works wonderfully. I’m never going to let this tool get away from me.

IMG_1876

IMG_1878

IMG_1879

I did a test eyelet and it turned out beautifully. I didn't have to punch through the fabric at all beforehand -- the Fastener did everything with one quick squeeze.

I did a test eyelet and it turned out beautifully. I didn’t have to punch through the fabric at all beforehand — the Fastener did everything with one quick squeeze.

The back.

The back.

