My Blogging Future

Now that I am undergoing a new Call to Spirituality, I want to start writing about it. However, since this blog is mainly about crafting and I want to keep sharing the things that I make, I’m unsure if the two subjects would mix well together. I’ve found myself feeling a bit annoyed at blogs that try to cover too many topics, because they are inevitably difficult to navigate and there are never quite enough posts on the subjects that I care about, and I don’t want to inflict that on my readers.

However, managing multiple blogs can be tricky — it’s very easy to start focusing more on one and neglecting the other. I don’t want to turn into the sort of person who never updates!

I’m also worried about time, which is probably silly of me, but I can’t help myself. These days I’ve been putting a lot more energy into making sure that the baby doesn’t hurt herself, and occasionally I feel like I can’t concentrate on anything — she is a very determined climber. Having more than one blog will definitely take up more time, and I don’t know if I’m capable of meeting the challenge.

On the other hand, spirituality.

So, what should I do?

2 thoughts on “My Blogging Future

  1. I know the issue you’re struggling with, because I face a similar situation. I have a sewing blog, but also do fabric art. I’ve set up three blogs and have over time incorporated some of my fabric art projects and art news into my sewing blog. I keep my art blogs for art only and they are far less conversational and more gallery-like. Some readers respond positively, some I think are not so interested and that’s fine. Ultimately, I decided that my blogs are about what I want to write about and I don’t try to satisfy everyone, because as you know, that’s not possible.
    For myself, I like people who mix their spirituality with their other interests, because they are very connected; our talents are God-given. Since you asked, my advice is to follow your own heart and trust that like-minded receptive people will continue to follow. :)

  2. All of us that subscribe to your blog receive an email that you have added a new post. My suggestion is to try and keep just the one blog. But when you post, put the word Crafts, Child Care, or Religion in the title. If a person is not interested, they can just delete the email. Example: (Crafts: My Latest Skirt or Child Care: Thoughts on Potty Training) I would click and read about the skirt, just delete the other as I no long have small children. Linda

Comments are closed.