Timeouts and Tantrums

The baby has learned how to climb on furniture. She’s a very stubborn and determined sort of person, and since she’s decided that she wants to climb on top of the cedar chest and dance around, she’s going to climb on top of the cedar chest and dance around, come hell or high water.

So, we’ve had to implement a new procedure: timeouts. If she ignores me telling her ‘no’ enough times, she has to sit in my lap for a few minutes. I know it’s working because she’ll usually throw a tantrum.

I think of tantrums as my baby learning emotional control, and in that light they are surprisingly adorable to watch. It’s like her body is too small to contain all of the upset that she’s feeling! So I hug her and kiss her, and tell her that I love her and that I’m helping her grow by teaching her how to regain control when her emotions flare up. In the end, it’s not that bad.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Being a wife and mother is the most exquisitely delightful thing that I have ever done.

