Sewing

Hopefully my little family is finished being sick, because I have a busy schedule ahead of me.

This week starts off the Summer of No Pants challenge, where participants will spend the next four weeks sewing four skirts/dresses, then pledging to wear no pants during the summer. In addition to the challenge, I also have my wedding dress to sew, since I failed to finish it in the time I had allotted for it. Busy, busy!

Thankfully, skirts can be really easy, so I’m not worried about the challenge. If push comes to shove, I can cut out a rectangle, add a drawstring, and call it good. The wedding dress, on the other hand, has me a bit more stressed — I’ve encountered numerous obstacles that have prevented me from working on it, and I’m beginning to think that the Universe doesn’t want me to have this dress. At least, not at the moment. I’ll have to do some soul searching to figure out if the project needs to be put on hold for a better time, or if I should persevere and continue working on it now.

I guess that it’s a matter of where my heart is at right now.

So, while I’m busy deciding what to do about the wedding dress, I’m putting together a dark red (and rather gothy) skirt as my first project for the Summer of No Pants, and I love how it’s turning out. I’ll have a closet of beautiful new clothes in no time!

