Sewing and Toddlers

Progress on my wedding dress is going very, very slowly. I planned on having it finished by the end of May, and since I haven’t even gotten all of my fabric cut yet, I’m beginning to realize that I probably won’t be able to use a lot of the haute couture techniques that I had wanted to try out — especially now that the baby is old enough to be interested in everything I do.

Before too much longer, I’ll have to admit that my baby is no longer a baby, and start referring to her as my toddler.

We’ve begun the interesting challenge of having hobbies after the baby has learned how to walk. I can no longer put her down in a pile of toys and expect her to stay there. What I can expect is for her to get up, hunt me down, then hang onto my skirt and demand to be included in whatever it is that I’m up to. Helping Mama is much more fun than playing with toys alone, after all! So, I’ve been putting aside my projects in favor of building towers, having dance parties, and playing outside. Consequently, my projects are falling behind schedule.

This is why I don’t sew professionally!

That’s an update of what I’ve been up to. It’s not very showy, but it’s been a lot of fun in its own way.

