Viking 381

IMG_1604

I inherited my grandma’s sewing machine, which is a Viking Multimatic 381 from West Germany. I can’t find any references to it on the internet, so there isn’t much that I can tell you about this machine. I don’t even know how old it is, since I can’t find any dates in the manual. All I know is that it is really damn cool.

The only maintenance I had to do was cleaning out the dust and lint balls from the inside, then oiling it up. It’s much quieter and more powerful than my other two machines, so this one will probably become my main squeeze. I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for compatible accessories.

The manual is in German with paper inserts that have the English translation.

The manual is in German with paper inserts that have the English translation.

The underside of the machine.

The underside of the machine.

A unique bobbin case. At first I thought it was broken because it didn't have the little arm, but then I realized that it was designed that way.

A unique bobbin case. At first I thought it was broken because it didn’t have the little arm, but then I realized that it was designed that way.

No seam markings on the throat plate. I'm undecided about whether or not I should add them on.

No seam markings on the throat plate. I’m undecided about whether or not I should add them on.

Sewing machine guts.

Sewing machine guts.

Different thread types, including preset button hole settings.

Different thread types, including preset button hole settings.

3 thoughts on “Viking 381

  1. That looks like it!

    Interesting thing about the plastic cracking. I checked my machine and saw a few in the camstack, but it doesn’t seem to be affecting how the machine runs. That’s something to keep an eye on.

Comments are closed.