Wedding Dress Design

IMG_1489

After a good long while of thinking about it, and several conversations with my husband about the sort of things that he likes, this is the design that I came up with for my wedding dress. The photograph that I took of my sketch isn’t the greatest, but that’s the general idea.

I’ve decided that the main fabric is going to be linen because of how madly in love I am with it, with silk chiffon overlaying the skirt and sleeves. The detailing that I represented with squiggly lines in my sketch is going to be lace appliques of flowers and butterflies applied to the silk.

Structurally, it’s going to have a sweetheart neckline, a princess seamed bodice, a basque waist, and a subtle mermaid-cut skirt.

My husband isn’t a fan of trains, so the hemline of the skirt is going to be mainly straight, though I might sneak in an extra two inches in the back, ha ha.

Next step: Creating it.

One thought on “Wedding Dress Design

  1. Pingback: Sewing and Toddlers | Silver Stitches

Comments are closed.