Corset Progress Part 3

Boning channels marked.

Boning channels marked.

I decided that I wanted to use double folded bias strips instead, so I cut and dyed new ones. When I put the strips in the dye pot, the baby immediately decided that she needed all of my attention, so I didn't have the chance to stir them at all, and the dye applied unevenly like marble.

I decided that I wanted to use double folded bias strips instead, so I cut and dyed new ones. When I put the strips in the dye pot, the baby immediately decided that she needed all of my attention, so I didn’t have the chance to stir them at all, and the dye applied unevenly like marble.

It turned out to be unexpectedly pretty.

It turned out to be unexpectedly pretty.

Boning channels sewn.

Boning channels sewn.

Applying bias tape.

Applying bias tape.

I hand stitched the bias on the wrong side so that I wouldn't have the seam showing on the right.

I hand stitched the bias on the wrong side so that I wouldn’t have the seam showing on the right.

This is what it looks like with the edges finished.

This is what it looks like with the edges finished.

Flossing. I didn't have much embroidery floss, so I tried to ration it. I ended up needing to buy more anyway, and while the new stuff looked like it matched in the store, when I got home and started working with it in natural light, I realized that the new floss was slightly lighter than the old. I cannot unsee it.

Flossing. I didn’t have much embroidery floss, so I tried to ration it. I ended up needing to buy more anyway, and while the new stuff looked like it matched in the store, when I got home and started working with it in natural light, I realized that the new floss was slightly lighter than the old. I cannot unsee it.

IMG_1368

The ribbon runs through the bias tape on the top edge, and it's purpose is so that I can cinch up the top a bit to prevent myself from popping out when I wear it.

The ribbon runs through the bias tape on the top edge, and it’s purpose is so that I can cinch up the top a bit to prevent myself from popping out when I wear it.

This is what it looks like so far.

This is what it looks like so far.

I was originally planning on using eyelets with washers for the back lacing, but I have since decided that I want to use grommets instead. So, I need to get my hands on a grommet setter before I can continue working.

5 thoughts on “Corset Progress Part 3

  1. What a great outcome for your first attempt at making a corset. Do you have a Harbor Freight store near you? Or look online. The have a grommet kit very cheap. Only one size – grommets about the size of a quarter.

  2. Thank you for finding those, but unfortunately they are too big! I need something that can work with 3/16″ or 1/4″ sized grommets.

Comments are closed.