Three Years

Yesterday marked the three year anniversary of the day that my Lover and I met. Though, really, it felt like I had always known him and that we were simply getting back together after an absence. It was an odd mixture of comfortable familiarity and awkwardness, as I kept saying and doing things that were reminiscent of an old couple, then catching myself and worrying over how weird I must have seemed. My Lover had been impressed with how open and cute I was.

That night seemed to last forever, but eventually the hours ticked past and I had to start thinking about the obligations of the next day. I told my Lover that I didn’t want to say goodbye, so we never did. We’ve been inseparable ever since.

Our relationship has been tried and proven true. As difficult as the trials that we’ve gone through have been, it has made our foundation strong. I wouldn’t trade this for anything in the world.

