On Catcalling

I’ve never received any catcalls. I’ve had people honk their horns, shout things like, “Hey, cute boots!” or come up to me and tell me that I’m pretty, but I have never, ever, had anyone shout anything lewd at me. I came to half-believe that catcalls were a myth. Then, one summer night in Oregon, as my Lover and I were walking arm-in-arm along the street, we saw a couple of girls get out of a car with a hubbub about using the bathroom, and a minute later another car drove by and shouted something at them that was rather shocking to my delicate sensibilities. Oh my! People actually say things like that in public?

I started thinking, ‘Why have I never had such things shouted at me?’ Clearly it’s not because I’m unattractive — I’ve gotten plenty of polite attention in regards to my appearance. The best that I can come up with is that I do not act or dress like a slut, and that is why people never treat me crudely. Those girls that I had seen in Oregon had been dressed provocatively, and reacted flirtatiously to the catcall. Everything about them was an advertisement of their sexuality, and invited objectification.

People are treated according to the image that they project to the world. This seems to be something that most women of these modern days are in denial of. They want to show as much cleavage as possible, then throw a fit when anyone acknowledges that they are showing it — we’re all familiar with the “My eyes are up here,” phenomenon. It is insane to dress like a whore and expect to be treated like a virgin, yet women everywhere are doing precisely that.

We are all aware of the attraction that women’s bodies have upon men, so when a woman flaunts her body, the simple conclusion is that she wants the attention — why else would she put so much effort into knowingly obtaining it?

The entire idea of ‘personal liberation’ that is attached to this rigmarole is fallacious. The truth is that women want to be noticed by men, but they also want to denigrate men for noticing them. It is Pyrrhic warfare: feminists are destroying the dignity and character of women, in order to justify an attack upon men based on the false premises. Men are simply giving women the kind of attention that they are advertising themselves as wanting.

When a woman dresses and acts with dignity and class, men respond to her in kind — I can attest to that!

9 thoughts on “On Catcalling

  1. How does a “slut” dress exactly? This is a classic victim blaming attitude. Yes women want to be noticed … so do men, there is big big difference between being noticed and being harassed. Women who dress attractively are not advertising the fact that they wish to be disrespected, that is ridiculous. The insinuation that cleavage projects an image to the world that says “I want to be sexually harassed” is completely and utterly insane. Men are not animals who can not control their own behaviour, they are capable of treating everyone with respect regardless of how they are dressed.

  2. I wondered whether to reply to such an inane and ridiculous post as this. I ended up deciding that instead of investing time and effort to make a lengthy reply for something that isn’t worth it, what I’ll say is quick and to the point – feminists are NOT destroying the dignity and character of women.

    Jesus Christ.

  3. Let me recapitulate your post for you:
    i dun lik ur pst cuz ur dum n stupid 2
    n feminists r good

  4. A slut dresses precisely like a whore; the only difference is that one is an honest mercenary, while the other is a con artist: a prostitute is an honest woman of business, while a slut uses her wiles to manipulate her targets into offering her consideration in return for implied future sexual favours.

    Now, let us cut to the bone of your drivel: dressing attractively is not dressing provocatively. Apparently you lack either decency or taste, or you’d know this.

    And finally, men treat women precisely how they want to be treated; were this not the case, the author of this post would not have experience differing from that offered to those who request such things with their wanton and licentious attire.

    As a final note, the phrase “victim blaming” is not a magical panacea which girds your worn-out loins with some magical armour which deflects logic & reason: you are simply trying, as feminists and skanks are prone to doing, to use an emotionally changed term to prevent reasonable and rational discussion of the topic.

  5. My roommate and I were catcalled one blizzard while walking to university bundled up in every bit of winter gear we owned. We were basically walking quilts. I also got catcalled once while pumping gas. I looked around for the girl in question then realized it was me. I had the largest laugh at the boys’ expense as I walked out from behind my car with my huge pregnant belly and waved at them. Their tires squealed. I catcalled a shirtless guy on a bicycle one day and he swerved into the nearest telephone pole. I think it’s a basic human behaviour, hormone thing. I don’t think anyone’s asking for anything unless they’re handing out leaflets.

  6. Thank you for your post. However I must respectfully disagree. I think it’s quite unfair to say that “CLEAVAGE = HARASSMENT” because it simply is untrue. Harassment usually happens not because of an occasionally questionable wardrobe choice but more subtly over the course of human relationships.

    Actually, I think that our culture’s treatment of masculinity makes it almost inevitable that men will turn out harassers, regardless of what we as women look like or what we wear (which incidentally would support the anecdotes bravely related by fellow commenters). But instead of properly blaming masculine ideals and archetypes, we’re all too often blaming ourselves because (WARNING: SARCASM) surely it’s just natural that men would want to harass and abuse us and we ought to be vigilant by dressing to conceal not to reveal.

    Instead of fighting amongst ourselves “OMG I can’t believe you wore that out” “Well you shouldn’t have slept around so much, you were begging for it” about women’s choices, why in hell aren’t we attacking the source of the problem?

  7. Strange that one should ‘respectfully’ disagree in a fashion so devoid of respect.

    First the subject implies that it is society’s treatment of men which conditions them to behave so, but then, through verbal sleight-of-hand, rephrases their position to imply that it is masculinity itself which is the problem. Next, the subject attempts to divest women of any responsibility for how they are treated, by insinuating that men should treat women by a specific standard invariant of how women themselves behave.

    Finally, the subject attempts to undermine EM’s original post by suggesting that she is NOT attacking the actual source of the problem; with the ancillary goal of devaluing the class of statements which express disappointment, dismay, or criticism toward women dress or act in a licentious fashion; in the form of a vacuous attempt at reconciliation.

Comments are closed.