At the Library

Yesterday I remembered that I had a library card. That might seem kind of silly of me, but for the past three years I’ve lived a rather transient life, and the thing about libraries is that they like you to have a permanent address before they’ll give you a card. You can’t just walk in and say, “I live in a van parked over on the hill; give me books.” A lot of libraries these days won’t even let you access the internet without a card, making them Buildings That Had No Use To Me. I wrote libraries out of my mind, never to be thought of again.

Until yesterday.

I got my library card three and a half years ago. I had planned on doing lots of reading, but then I ended up working instead. I don’t recollect ever checking out any books with my card, ever, and I was worried that it had expired or something — I have no clue how these things work these days. There was only one way to find out.

It was exciting to look at all the different books they had on the subject of sewing and fashion (I believe the expression is, ‘Like a kid in a candy store’). I limited myself to six. I was tempted to get more, but the stack was getting heavy. While I was checking out, the girl behind the counter asked, “Are you going to be making costumes?” to which I simply answered, “No.” I know, it could have been a conversation starter, I could have explained my fascination with fashion and hobby of sewing, and possibly made a friend, but there are some moments in which I find ambiguity to be far more amusing, and that was one of them. Possibilities were a sacrifice that I was willing to make.

The downside about being a seamstress is that everyone assumes you’re only in it for Halloween.

Anyway, I’ll be spending the next month reading the above pictured books, and oh what fun it will be.

One thought on “At the Library

Comments are closed.