In case anyone asks . . .

I went to a wine and cheese tasting event last night, mainly because the last time I had done any sort of socializing was literally months ago and it was time for me to get out. Honestly, I’ll probably always be a bit of a barbarian when it comes to wine, since every time I try some all I can think about is how much it tastes like grape juice that has gone horribly, horribly bad. Anyway, while we were there my Lover and I meandered around sampling the food and chatting with the locals. The thing about having a baby is that it’s a great conversation starter, and I had plenty of people come up to me to ask questions about her.

Then, inevitably, “Where are you from?”

Being from Utah, I get a lot of comments about Mormons. When one man in particular asked, I told him that I had never belonged to the Mormon church, just because I didn’t want to get into the subject of religion. Apparently he did though, because he proceeded to ask if I had ever wanted to join Mormonism, and what my parents opinion on it was. I felt kind of bad about lying, since in reality I had grown up Mormon and all, but I couldn’t come up with a polite way to express how much I wanted to avoid the topic. My socializing skills have gotten rusty, and it was kind of overwhelming to be out in the first place. Luckily, someone else came up to me to ask about the baby, and I had my way out.

So, in case anyone asks, I was never Mormon. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

