The Biggest Sleep Mistakes We Made

This article, “The Biggest Sleep Mistakes We Made“, is supposedly about ways a parent should not put their children to sleep. However, the very first item it lists is nursing a baby to sleep, with the explanation:

It was a peaceful way to transition to nap and bedtime for both of us, but I was incredibly anxious about having anyone else put him to sleep. I’d be lying if I didn’t say I sometimes miss that sleepy snuggly time with my baby, but now that we’ve gotten past it, it is so nice to know that I can have a night off or an afternoon away without my baby (or me) being upset.

Or, as I would summarize it, “Nursing my baby to sleep made me start caring about it, and that’s bad.” Because babies are commodity items, and should intrude as little into your life as possible. Heaven forbid you actually grow attached or anything like that.

I nurse my baby to sleep pretty much exclusively. Sometimes I lie down in bed with the baby on my breast and a book in my hand, and read while she suckles in her sleep. As a result, Baby and I are immensely fond of each other. I don’t mind that my life revolves around my daughter, because by choosing to have her I committed myself to caring for her. That means making sure that she feels safe and loved, even at the cost of personal convenience. The wonderful part is, I still have plenty of time for myself and for my Lover.

The other two items on the list for this article are, “Driving to sleep,” and “Staying until they fell asleep,” which, again, revolve around the idea that children shouldn’t take up too much of your time. I wonder why people with that attitude even have kids in the first place.

One thought on “The Biggest Sleep Mistakes We Made

  1. I completely agree with you. I’ve worked in child care for twelve years, and the disconnect between some parents and thier children makes one wonder why they didnt just get a cat instead.

Comments are closed.