Materialism

http://rookiemag.com/2012/04/rit-dye-tutorial/

The very first paragraph of this tutorial says:

It happens to me every year. The second spring hits, I’m standing in front of my closet going, I am so sick of all my clothes, if I see that shirt again I’ll throw up, but I don’t have any money for new stuff, I’M SO TIRED OF EVERYTHING I OWN. You know that feeling?

No, I don’t. Even after spending four months rotating through the same three skirts, I still don’t know that feeling at all. It rather baffles me that the sight of a shirt could make someone want to throw up.

Quit acting like your consumerism is normal.

I like getting new clothes just as much as anyone else, but I don’t think that I’m entitled to them. To me they are a treat, and I tend to keep clothes for a long, long time — much longer than a year. Sometimes something will happen that changes my world view, and I’ll realize that certain items are no longer practical, or that they no longer suit my personality, and so I’ll retire them. Not because I’m sick of them, but because they simply don’t fit with who I am any more.

The biggest wardrobe change that I ever did was when I left Mormonism. I got rid of all of my shirts that were two sizes too big, and indulged heavily in my attraction to bare shoulders.

But the author in question isn’t changing religions every year, and I highly doubt that she’s discovering that her personality has drastically changed since she bought those clothes. She’s simply materialistic.

