Booties

Crocheted slippers, or as I like to call them, my booties. I made them for puttering around in, since I currently live in an unfinished basement with a cement floor that seems to be an endless source of dust, and I like having clean feet. Since the whole reason for their existence is to get dirty, I used nasty acrylic yarn (otherwise I’d be too concerned about keeping them nice to actually wear them). White, because that’s what I had, and it’s kind of fun to look at the soles and see how brown they’re getting. It’s also fun to wash them and see how good of a job my laundry detergent is doing. So far, fantastic.

I used this pattern for the basic slipper with some alterations to better fit my feet, then added my own edging and tie. The edging is supposed to be some sort of baby blue deal, but there’s too much white for it to be obvious.

5 thoughts on “Booties

  1. My new job is based in an old house with tile flooring. I’ve been meaning to make something like this because we have to take our outside shoes off. My only concern is slipping. Do you know if it’s possible to buy that rubbery stuff that expensive house socks have on the bottom?
    Thanks for sharing the pattern :-)

  2. I don’t know about that rubbery stuff, but you could ask at your local craft store if they have anything that could work.

    Or you could wander around barefoot in a hospital until a nurse gives you something to put on. That’s how I got my house socks. ~_^

  3. I recently saw a pattern that you attach to an old pair of flip-flops, but I forgot to bookmark the page! Ahhhh! But I also found someone on etsy who sells leather patches to attach to the your finished slippers. I might go that route.

Comments are closed.