Lessons Learned

You know, roughly six months ago when I started this blog, it never crossed my mind that I would start writing about how much everyone sucks. Six months ago, I also had no idea how luxurious hot water was, or what it was like to be so hungry that canned soup sounded like ambrosia. Six months ago, I didn’t know that 90% of the sewing websites out there were tutorials on how to cut out rectangles.

I recommend that everyone should spend at least a couple of months living homeless. There’s no better way to learn what’s really important in life.

I can see all too clearly how petty those bored housewives who fancy themselves to be crafty are. They aren’t making tote bag tutorials because they have a passion for it, they’re doing it for the page views. They’re doing it because they are narcissistic. The idea that a bag can be used for something more than a fashion statement never really crosses their minds. They don’t realize that their 7-year-old boys really don’t care about pillows and blankets, even when they have car appliqués on them. Their world views centre around themselves, and that’s that.

In the meantime, those of us who actually do have a passion for sewing are dragging our projects through good and bad times with the determination to get better, no matter what happens.

