More on Pittsburgh

It’s somewhat unfortunate that I disliked the people in Pittsburgh so much, because there were a lot of good things about the place. For instance, the thrift market was better than anywhere else I’ve seen, and the thunderstorms were amazing. But, my God, the people.

The experience was rather schizophrenic. The people we met kept doing nice things for us, rather above and beyond what one would expect from strangers, but at the same time their attitudes were pushy and judgemental. After awhile I flat out stopped talking to anyone, because I was so sick of their mindset.

You see, I consider myself to be an artist. I am way too serious about my work to be a crafter, but I’m also not in it for making money. If that were the case, I’d go to school for fashion design, get a job somewhere, and spend the rest of my life working. Blah.

Everyone I talked to acted like I was some poor girl who needed to be liberated, feminist style. Sewing in and of itself was too domesticated, so obviously the only acceptable way to explore any interest in it was to become an entrepreneur. They told me to make deals with local alteration shops and start up a business. Because, you know, if it’s not making money then it’s not worth doing. The fact that I don’t have a business-oriented mind was never part of the equation.

And it was all incredibly annoying.

The final cherry on top was that I had two different people tell me to be distrustful of my Lover because he was a man. That was incredibly fucked up.

