Faggot Stitch and Then Some

Last night I was brought to the awful realization that I had to pull apart the dress that I’m working on and redo part of it. It’s something that I’ve done before. In fact, everything I’ve made so far as been pieced together at least twice. Yet last night felt especially awful, because I had to shred apart my carefully done hand stitching that I had felt so good about, all because the lining was skerwonky. Blah. Just blah.

So, after wallowing in misery for a bit, I added some booze to my coffee and took a break. Cue exciting idea. I instantly cheered up and got back to work.

Faggot stitch. Or Twisted Insertion stitch, if that’s what you prefer. I asked my Beloved to look the stitch up on his computer for me, and when I told him the name he gave me a look like, “Oh really?” because apparently that is the sort of joke that I would pull. 
Anyway, I decided to connect the shoulder straps together using this method, and when I was finished with the first strap I held it up with pride and exclaimed, “DAMMIT!” I had connected the back-right piece to the front-left piece; in my excitement to try it out I had forgotten to make sure that I was stitching the right parts together. We all had a good laugh.
My newest venture is to start adding embroidery to my projects, so I put a simple butterfly under the neckline. The left half of the pattern transferred incorrectly, so I attempted to do it freestyle. I am not good at doing it freestyle. 
Considering that I have never done embroidery before and that I didn’t bother to look up any stitches before starting, this actually isn’t half bad.  It’s certainly not great, but at least I won’t be embarrassed to wear it across my chest.
And because I like to get creative with my old camera . . .
