Undo and Redo

I put on my Little Gray Dress with the intent to hem the bottom, when it hit me hard that I absolutely HATED the way the bodice fit. I decided to pull the entire thing apart and redo it. It was kind of upsetting, considering that there were sections that I had patiently stitched by hand (while watching Star Trek DS9, I might add), but I hated the bodice enough that I wouldn’t have been able to focus on anything else while wearing it. I’m working at becoming a GOOD seamstress, and I guess that means making sacrifices every now and then for the sake of learning.

It took me 5 hours to sew it back together.

Check the garment periodically to make sure that everything fits right. That way you don’t have to undo everything to fix one piece.

And while I’m at it:

Think about trimming (such as lace) during construction, That way you don’t have to go back and unpick seams in order to properly insert it.

While I was in the middle of unpicking the dress, my lover commented that I was singing through my nose. Since I’m extremely shy about singing in the first place, it hurt my feelings and I started piecing the dress back together with a sniffley nose. I ended up putting the shoulder straps on upside-down – go figure. So I’ve learned that I shouldn’t sew while hiding hurt feelings, because I’m more likely to make a mistake. Sex is much more therapeutic anyway.

Annoyingly enough, every time I think I’m getting the hang of sewing in zippers, I go and screw up again.

